Eyes Wide Open

Today my family and I spent the day at the Quail Botanical Gardens in beautiful Encinitas. I must say this is a magical place to get lost in. My husband Philip and I were married there years ago, so we have a special fondness for it. They have a new children’s garden that the girls had a lot of fun in. A giant tree-house with a spiral staircase, giant tic tac toe, a water feature you can sail boats down and much much more.

I so enjoy taking the kids to places like this where there is a sense of wonder, imagination and exploration. I encourage them to look at things, plants, flowers, lizards or whatever else we might stumble upon. It brings me back to my own childhood and exploring the unknown. These were some of the best times for me growing up.

We have been homeschooling for the last four years and I must admit I am in awe of how children learn. I encourage them to have an open mind and use their imagination as they learn from the world around them. Nature is a great teacher and we can learn a lot from it…should we seek to explore it and keep our eyes wide open.

I like this quote: “Once you realize that the road is the goal and that you are always on the road, not to reach a goal, but to enjoy its beauty and its wisdom, life ceases to be a task and becomes natural and simple, in itself an ecstasy.” Sri Nisargadatta Mahar

039.

Leave a Reply

