Crafty: Hand Embroidery

IMG_9319
Inspired by the work of Yumiko Higuchi
IMG_0421
This one was fun! Different shades of purple
IMG_9435
A bumble bee for my bee keeper friend, Carre
IMG_0290
Made for a friend that moved to Texas. She hopes to have an alpaca farm.
IMG_9320
Delicate Floral

 

IMG_9463
Geisha for my friend Masami-san. This was so much fun! I loved working on the hair “kanzashi” accessories

My latest obsession. I decided to give hand embroidery a try after seeing a tutorial from Sublime Stitching online. I decided that I would purchase a few simple supplies and a pattern from Sublime Stitching and give it a go. I was instantly hooked! After my first go at it I discovered that I wanted to challenge myself with something more difficult. I found a picture of what I wanted to make online, printed it out and using tracing paper, taped it to a window and traced over the design. Once I had the design on tracing paper, I took my fabric (linen), layed it over the top of the traced design and traced over that onto my fabric using a tracing pen. Tracing pens are easy to use and wash off the fabric with water. Everything after is easy. Just pick a stitch and work slowly. I find that intricate designs can take several hours, over several days. I find those to be the most rewarding.

Tools to get started: Embroidery floss, embroidery needles, hoops and fabric. It’s that simple!

Leave a Reply

