Japan Adventures: Kyoto Part 2

img_3001

Arashiyama Bamboo forest

img_3002

Amazing sound with the wind whipping through them

img_3000

Temple entrance

img_3004

img_3005

img_3006

Forest keepers

img_3012

Beautiful Fall day

img_3020

Hozugawa River

img_3632

Peace!

img_3645

600 kimono art

img_3652

Last night in Kyoto- we found this great yakisoba restaurant

img_3655

Olivia enjoying dinner

Our last day trip was to Arashiyama as it was a short train ride on the Randen Katabiranotsuji train line to Arashiyama. The Tenryu-ji Temple, Kimono forest (art installation of kimono designs), Togetsukyo bridge, Sagano train ride, Hozugawa river boat ride, and lots of shopping! Carre, Olivia and I spent the afternoon in Arashiyama. It was extremely crowded, and for good reason, its a wonderful place to visit. I had my heart set on the Hozugawa River boat cruise but we arrived so late in the afternoon so for sure we will do it next time!
Kyoto is so charming. It was my favorite place we visited this time and I CANNOT wait to go back. I would love to visit in the wintertime. Because we practice the art of aikido, we are fortunate to have the ability to travel to Japan every couple of years. I feel so lucky to have aikido in my life. The Japanese culture has enriched my life in so many ways and it really is a culture to admire and respect. I think Japan is one of the loveliest places I’ve visited. Our next adventure is back to the Tokyo area of Tama (aka the land of HELLO KITTY!)…

Save

Leave a Reply

